OujaStrike's Blogs

News on Power Rangers and Video Games

All My Children & One Life To Live no longer to air Online

Posted by OujaStrike on November 23, 2011

it’s another sad day in the soap world, Prospect Park is abandoning a plan to keep long-running ABC soaps “One Life to Live” and “All My Children” alive by moving them online.

Prospect Park’s Statement

the company has confirmed that, after five months of negotiations, the launch of OLTL and AMC on TOLN have been shelved. “It is now becoming clear that mounting issues make our ability to meet our deadlines to get OLTL on the air in a reasonable time period following its January 13, 2012 ABC finale impossible,” the statement from PP’s Rich Frank and Jeffrey Kwatinetz read. “We believe we exhausted all reasonable options apparent to us, but despite enormous personal, as well as financial cost to ourselves, we failed to find a solution…. In our opinion, new models like this can only work with the cooperation of many people striving to make them happen, and we would like to thank and praise the numerous people who tried to help and showed us incredible support. We are extremely grateful to the fans and media who showed great support to us through this process, to ABC who did everything in their control to help, and we are especially grateful for the support and encouragement from many of the Soaps’ cast and crew themselves.” The release went on to thank the OLTL and AMC actors who did sign on with PP as well as Executive Producer Frank Valentini and OLTL Head Writer Ron Carlivati, adding, “We feel terrible we couldn’t come through for them and we were very much looking forward to working together.

One Life To Live Star’s Reaction

Mark Lawson plays Brody Lovett

Sorry to hear Prospect Park was unable to pull it off. A sad day today for all the fans. A sad day for all of us who were part of the One Life family. But I know we all brought our best these last few months and can be proud of how we finished the game. Thanks OLTL for all you taught me.

Michael Easton plays John Mcbain

I’M SORRY TO SAY IT’S DONE…STILL MUCH TO BE THANKFUL FOR. HAPPY THANKSGIVING…I LOVE YOU ALL.

MY THOUGHTS ARE WITH ALL OF YOU TONIGHT…
I know how disappointing this news is to many of you. We tried to fight the good fight, we fought to the end to get the ratings up, but it wasn’t enough. We’re sorry we let you down. I just wanted to thank you all for the years of kindness, love and support you’ve shown me and my family. If you get a chance at some point, maybe say a prayer for the wonderful crew members of “One Life To Live”, many of whom are supporting large families, that they may find work soon. God Bless. Happy Thanksgiving.

Kassie DePaiva  plays Blair Cramer

Words just don’t express how sad I am at hearing that Prospect Park has dropped the deal to move forward with “One Life”. I think what upsets me the most is how this whole deal has been handled from the get go. I wanted more than anything not to have been cancelled by ABC. I find it mind boggling that a company can spend 45 years building the strongest brand in daytime… launch a cable networkto support it and then decide to cancel both broadcast and cable airings leaving the beloved fans with no where to turn for that brand. Then PP shows up out of nowhere as the great white hope promising to continue these shows…. I was happy to sign on. I love what I do and I’m proud to go to work everyday. I was asked to take a cut in pay and was happy to do it if it meant our show would go on. That was the first week of September. But other than a very quick speech on the studio floor by PP in late September the company did not give out any information regarding when and where we would be working. Last Wednesday the cast received an email telling us our dressing rooms must be cleared out by the 9th of Dec. or ABC would be tossing things out… and then to hear the official news today via a media report.

The last 2 weeks have been emotional for me. The stories are rocking and show is so good. It is must see TV. Don’t miss a day… don’t miss a scene. My hat goes off to Ron Calivarti…. he has written really powerful stuff and I think the fans are going love it. I especially want to shout out to Frank Valentini… who has fought the hardest to make the transition happen. He has been amazing and I want you fans to know how hard he worked to continue giving you fans the show you deserve. He found out this wasn’t going to happen just like I did…via a media report.

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving and I have so much to be grateful for but I must say I wish things had worked out differently. It’s been the best 18 years of my life. I hope you will continue to watch “One Life” until the bitter sweet end.

Kristen Alderson plays Starr Manning

Extremely sad sad news… No #prospectpark deal for AMC or OLTL. So many lives affected by this… #RIPoltl

Hillary B. Smith plays Nora Buchanan

I want to b careful what I say right now. I am so sad for the fans. I am so sad for all of us who were robbed of the 7 months to plan, I wish there had been more communication. This was not about AFTRA! The guilds and unions were talking, The endings were changed to accomodate the move. I wish they would have left us alone. So sad!!!!

AFTRA responds to PP

AFTRA was deeply disappointed to read that the executives at Prospect Park have decided to suspend their efforts to produce the long-running and popular daytime serials OLTL and AMC via online distribution. Despite initial progress in our negotiations with Prospect Park toward resolving a fair agreement to cover the performers appearing on these programs, we were perplexed and disappointed that for the past month Prospect Park has not responded to our repeated inquiries to resume those discussions. We now conclude from the press reports that Prospect Park faced other challenges unrelated to our negotiations, which prevented continuation of those discussions.

“We remain hopeful that an opportunity to revive these two popular series will emerge in the future, and remain ready to resume discussions should that opportunity arise.”

Writers Guide of America responds

We were disappointed to learn that Prospect Park’s financing fell through,” the WGA said. “Prior to the end of last week, we were close to a fair deal for the writers.”

This just Suck

If their’s anymore info i will keep you updated:

Marty M

One Response to “All My Children & One Life To Live no longer to air Online”

  1. Nadeem said

    I hate to sound like a defeatist or I hate to be the bearer of bad news but the unfortunate lesson to learn is that all or almost all good things must come to an end.However and by some miracle maybe just maybe Prospect Park will decide to air All My Children and One Life To Live.

Leave a Reply

 
